Body Art – The Meaning of the Daffodil

The Daffodil is the March birth flower. The three Daffodils represent myself and my two sisters, Carrie and Heather (all March babies). My sisters are always with me and I love when I look in the mirror and see them. It brings me a sense of calm. It warms my heart. It makes me feel like I am never alone. The meaning of the Daffodil is beautiful and represents many traits that we carry with us. Daffodils have the meaning of faith, honesty, truth, forgiveness, and forthrightness.

The meaning I most love is represented in this quote, “They are ever vigilant in returning each spring, and with their return we are reminded that their beauty is capable of following on the shirttails of even the harshest winters (or tribulations).” We all face difficult times. How we face “tribulations” and overcome those difficult times tells us a lot about who we are. We always come out more knowledgeable and beautiful at the end. It is who we are. It is how we choose to be. Symbolizing rebirth and new beginnings. We never look back at the past, we always look forward to the future.

The daffodil is symbolic of the power of inner beauty and the clarity of thought. It reminds us that clarity of thought makes our whole world change and it makes many decisions easier if they are not over analyzed but instead clarified and soundly resolved. The Daffodil is a symbol of wealth and good fortune and a symbol of beautiful eyes. A gift of daffodils is said to ensure happiness. We love to see people happy :)

I have to give all the thanks to my twin who was the brainchild behind this body art. I love the beauty, the meaning and that we share in the symbolism. I also love that we have the art on different shoulders, have it is positioned differently and how Carries is shaded more subtle and delicate and mine is more bold and daring, it represents our personalities. I guess Heather needs to step up :)

in time of daffodils (E.E. Cummings)

in time of daffodils (who know
the goal of living is to grow)
forgetting why, remember how

4 Responses to “Body Art – The Meaning of the Daffodil”

  1. Yours looks just beautiful! I can’t wait to see them together. It is all about the meaning :) Thanks for sharing what it means to you because it means the same to me. It also reminds me of Grammy because she shared the same traits (and it’s the official flower of the American Cancer Society and represents hope). Heather???

  2. I learn from you all the time! I am a March baby too and didnt know there was a flower for it… I hope that you get to show off your new art along with your great attitude often and well!

  3. Simply beautiful! You must get a photo of them together! I will never look at my daffodils the same…((((heart))))

  4. Hey There. I found your weblog the use of msn.
    That is a very well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your
    useful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

