26.2 & The Check WAS In The Mail

Top of the list is a HUGE congratulations to my Aunt Marie for finishing her 1st ever Marathon!!! She is turning 60 on Saturday and celebrated with a great finish (Chip Time: 5:50; Pace/mile: 13:20)! Her first race was almost two years back when she came to Miami to run the Half and she told us then she had so much fun she would think about the full. We are all so proud of her!

2007 Mimi Marathon - Aunt Marie's 1st Half

2007 Mimi Marathon - Aunt Marie

Next…

Well, a little over a week ago I signed the contract to be sponsored by athletefocus.com and mailed it in. Yesterday I got a goody bag in the mail with stickers, post cards and the check 🙂

I have had a really great time connecting with other athletes on the site and participating in forums. I have had a really cool chica who is 39 reach out to me from VT and she is big into wake and snowboarding and I also received a “connection” from a young girl from Australia who competes in surfing. Neat to hear about other sports other than triathlons!

Cool stuff!

Cool stuff!

Lastly, there were a few things that happened this week that I wanted to share.

1st – a lady I work with, unbeknown to me, had a young daughter with leukemia. I found out on Tuesday that her 12 year old daughter died and discovered why and found out that she took all her conference calls from the hospital for over a year sitting by her daughters bed. Wow, it hit me hard and really made me realize how lucky we are to be healthy and be able to get out and do what we love to do. Life is too short so we all need to count our blessings, be happy and enjoy life. This is also a plug to give your time to volunteer where possible. I will be doing more of that in 2009.

2nd – I was at the gym today working out and got on a machine next to two ladies that were looking at me and talking in Spanish (after 4 yrs. of Spanish classes you would think I knew what they were saying)! One of them looked at me and said, “We were both complaining about not wanting to work out and when you walked by you inspired us.”  They both added more weight to the leg machines so I think they will be cursing my name tomorrow but the moral of the story is everyone needs inspiration including pro-athletes, CEOs and me. Inspire where you can, use others to inspire you and keep finding your limits in what you love to do.

ENJOY YOUR WEEKEND!!

2 Responses to “26.2 & The Check WAS In The Mail”

  1. One of your best so far. More to come, I’m sure.

  2. Stepmonster Says:

    Thanks for the tickle to take a personal inventory.

    Love your picture – you’re so cute!

    ….and a check!!!! Yeah!

Leave a Reply

