Tri “Girls Gone Wild” & Tara Rocks!

logo1

First on the list is a shout out to my friend Tara for a FANTASTIC finish in the Richmond Marathon! This is Tara’s first marathon and she pulled off a phenomenal 4:28:31! She had to battle several injuries over the past several years including some stress fractures that required massive healing time. It was so great to see her finish strong! Now she is training for Kiawha and I am more than positive she will hit her goal of 4:15. I read her blog and in her “Highlights From The Race” section I really loved one of her comments, it is something I truly believe in and live by. When you smile it makes you feel good inside and people notice it and are inspired by it. Tara, keep smiling, you are an inspiration. Tara’s comment:

“The crowds were awesome; I can see why they call Richmond America’s Friendliest Marathon.  Later in the race, up toward mile 20, I passed by one crowd who yelled at me (my name was on my bib), “Go, Tara, you’re the only one smiling!!!”  And I was – I smiled A LOT all the way through.”

tara1

Tri Girls Gone Wild

To celebrate the end of our 2008 tri season JC, Joy and I got together and enjoyed an evening out! We stated off with a few glasses of wine at my place and watched the IML athlete video to get JC excited for next year. Yea, Joy did Ironman Louisville in 2007, I did it in 2008, JC is doing it in 2009. Then off to a few Irish bars to have a few beers. Some highlights of the evening:

1) The bouncer pretending to look at our IDs – dude, you could have pretended to be surprised at our ages!

2) Joy getting lectured by the bouncer when she was telling JC to get up on the table and dance and holding the hanging light as a spotlight. We thought it was cool Joy!

3) Our new found friend, Jessie, who was celebrating his 23rd birthday (good job guessing the right age JC) and found humor in the 3 chicks laughing at him as he was doing a “suggestive” dance and spilling his drinks all over the place. He kept coming back for abuse from JC who kept telling him he was drinking a chick drink (JC, a long island ice tea is HARD). JC then showed him what a real drink was and got him an Irish Wisky shot and the dude is no doubt cursing her name this morning!

Ladies, thanks for a great time and here is to a great 2009 season!

tri-girls-gone-wild

Until next time…Midget OUT!

One Response to “Tri “Girls Gone Wild” & Tara Rocks!”

  1. runtararun Says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Kel, although I’m not quite sure I deserve all that!! We’ll see how Kiawah goes in two weeks…whew!

    And talk about Watch Out Jax Beach!!! Tri Girls ON THE LOOSE! Looks like you had a great time, and what a great way to celebrate an awesome season for the three of you. Here’s to an even better ’09!

Leave a Reply

