‘Tis The Weekend to Be Jolly

Wow! What a weekend. Starting from the top:

Saturday!!!

GOTR_WonderGirl-NB_vFSaturday morning started off with a wonderful event for Girls on the Run! It was amazing to see all the volunteers, girl, coaches, running buddies and families out at University of North Florida for the Wondergirl 5K. I have to admit it was just a blast watching the girls smile as they awaited the start of the race that they trained so hard for. Congrats to all the girls that completed the race! The best was this one little girl who was running a million mph to the finish, she crosses the line, grabs her medal, puts it around her neck then puked all over the track!! That is my kinda girl!!

I took some great pics of the event that I will be sharing with GOTR and the HammerHead Tri Club but here are a few of us.

Ozzy, Kellie, Joy and Carrie

Ozzy, Kellie, Joy and Carrie

Joy's job was to hold a sign but she could not stop shivering!

Joy's job was to hold a sign but she could not stop shivering!

My buddy and I were the event photographers

My buddy Kendall and I were the event photographers

Then time to warm up! Joy, Kendall and I headed to Starbucks and hung out then Saswata met us for lunch. Off for a little aqua jogging then ran home to shower for the next event!

JC got a group of 15 of us together to tour some homes in San Marco and we had a blast! Met up at Starbucks, hit a bunch of homes that were BEAUTIFUL then off to eat dinner! Here are a few pics of the evening (yes, one of the stops was at a firehouse)!

This house had 11 sinks!

This house had 11 sinks!

)

JC was first down the fireman's pole 🙂

)

Joy said this was the best part of her birthday 🙂

The fireman kept yelling at me to loosen my grip but I was enjoying the ride

The fireman kept yelling at me to loosen my grip but I was enjoying the ride

one-happy-group

SUNDAY!!!

sulzbacher-center

After a good bike and core workout I had to run all over to finish Christmas shopping, get and fill out holiday cards, make a side dish for a holiday lunch at work (Orzo with feta, tomatoes, and dill – I hope I don’t kill anyone!), finalize, where I could, all hotels, flights and rental cars for my 2009 races and prepare my training schedule layout for ’09 so it fits my life and work schedule.

BUT, the one thing I am really looking forward to is a volunteer event my friends Saswata and Anjna put a lot of time and effort into. They really are two special people with a lot of heart. They got together a great group to help serve some awesome chili and cornbread at the Sulzbacher Center in downtown Jacksonville. After this event I will hit 40 hours of volunteer work for the year and it feels great. Next year I hope to top that! Off to finish off my to-do list and head downtown.

Midget…OUT!

One Response to “‘Tis The Weekend to Be Jolly”

  1. Kellie,

    As usual you make me proud to know you and be able to call you a friend. You ROCK and look forward to catching up with you.

    Donna

Leave a Reply

