Me, Myself and RocKeTT

Change. It is the word for 2009 as it relates to my training and work. It should be an interesting and fruitful year as I have always adapted well to change and actually embrace it. With the economic environment as it is today a job is a luxury and there are hundreds of people lined up that would be happy to have mine. My job, in part, is changing the way our clients do their job by streamlining, standardizing and simplifying. I have thought about how successful I have been at that and how I could translate that into my training and racing.

change

Kim Loeffler is a pro triathlete and I was reading her blog. She had a blog entry that was a quick read and was really impactful : Kim Loeffler – Trying Some New Things!

A couple things I am going to change up this year:

1) I am going to race all NEW courses this year. It is going to be really great to have the excitement and anticipation back in my sport. Last year I did tri’s that I had done in the past and dreaded and that took a toll on my confidence even before the race started.

2) I am going to LOVE that which I fear. Wind, hills and cold water WAS my limiter and this year my training will help me get past that and learn how to face them head on.

3) Then there is one that is going to be the hardest but the most critical. I have been summoned to LOVE my power meter and name it (thanks Brett)! My 3 week builds have long 4-6 hour rides on Sat. with a 60-90 min run off the bike. I have always enjoyed Sat. with my tri geek friends. Now it will only be me and RocKeTT (my power meter). I took the first initial of my nieces and nephews names and came up with the name (R= Rylee, K=Kavan, T=Teagan, T=Tyler). But, that will make it more exciting every 4th week (recovery week) to join my friends for a ride.

4) Get in the water! My coach swam on a competitive swim team and has me swimming 4x per week. I put in 13,000 yds. (7.4 miles) of swimming this week and that is just the tip of the iceberg. Let’s just say I will have the permanent smell of chlorine on me for a long time!

NOW A HUGE CONGRATS TO MY GIRL JC!!! SHE PULLED OFF A 2:56:05 IN THE 2009 WALT DISNEY WORLD® MARATHON PLACING 4TH FEMALE OVERALL!! WAY TO GO JC!

Leaderboard
W
O
M
E
N
LISA MIZUTANI 2:46:27
MELANIE PETERS 2:53:49
CHRISTA BENTON 2:54:35
JENNIFER HANLEY-PINTO 2:56:05
NATASHA YAREMCZUK 2:57:24

Here’s to change and breakthroughs in 2009!

Midget…OUT!

Leave a Reply

