Calling All Ladies: GOTRIbal!

gotribal_color50

I am excited about this post! Why? It is an embodiment of who I am and what inspires me and I hope it brings meaning to others as well. Although mostly geared towards the female reader I think you guys will enjoy it as well.

There is nothing more attractive then a strong woman. One with confidence, inner beauty, intelligence, a warm heart and a smile that lights up a room. A woman that is driven by goals and aspirations. One that shares their knowledge with others to inspire and help others reach their goals. A strong woman is a successful one in all aspects of life.

Join the Tribe!

Join the Tribe!

It is no surprise that I feel athletics plays a role in building these qualities. I was lucky enough to see a Twitter post (yes, Twitter rocks!) that had a link to a site called GOTRIbal.  It is an organization aimed at empowering women and promoting triathlon around the world. I started a Jacksonville, FL Tribe and setup a profile for myself.  Thanks to Tanya for following through on her vision to setup a site to bring woman of triathlon together and allow the more experienced triathlete help break down any obstacles for those that are thinking of getting into the sport. You trained. You raced. You accomplished. Now you pay that gift forward.

Experienced woman triathletes and those thinking of joining the fun one day, setup a profile and join the Tribe!

I received such amazing comments from my last post, Pay It Forward, and I wanted to thank everyone who recognizes the importance. I wanted to share one that made me smile. I saw a post on the ATHLETE blog that drew me to the blog of Mad Organica. Read her “about me” on the left hand side and you will be in tears! I commented on her blog and her comment back to me was great. Keep Rockin’ Madness Rivera!

Hi Kellie, Thanks so much for the awesome comment on my blog today! I’m thrilled to have stumbled across you guys and the whole ATHLETE project and GOTR organization.  I LOVE that poster of you guys, and I am completely inspired by you to keep on doing my little training over here.  It’s such perfect timing for me to find you and Dave; to see my personal philosophies manifested in film, in organizations, in ACTION!  Anyone who knows me well knows that athletics saved my life in many ways as a girl and I absolutely believe in paying that forward even if it’s only to my two strong and beautiful athlete daughters.
xxxxx (Madness)

I also wanted to share something that I found in 2005 that I have on my desktop and look at once a month. It has a business twist but I think you will see it as a guide beyond the office.

Things Leaders Do

1. Personal Responsibility.
“Enron and 9/11 marked the end of an era of individual freedom and the beginning of personal responsibility. You lead today by building teams and placing others first. It’s not about you.”

2. Simplify Constantly.
“I always use Jack [Welch] as my example here. Every leader needs to clearly explain the top three things the organization is working on. If you can’t, then you’re not leading well.”

3. Understand Breadth, Depth, and Context.
“The most important thing I’ve learned since becoming CEO is context. It’s how your company fits in with the world and how you respond to it.”

4. The importance of alignment and time management.
“There is no real magic to being a good leader. But at the end of every week, you have to spend your time around the things that are really important: setting priorities, measuring outcomes, and rewarding them.”

5. Leaders learn constantly and also have to learn how to teach.
“A leader’s primary role is to teach. People who work with you don’t have to agree with you, but they have to feel you’re willing to share what you’ve learned.”

6. Stay true to your own style.
“Leadership is an intense journey into yourself. You can use your own style to get anything done. It’s about being self-aware. Every morning, I look in the mirror and say, ‘I could have done three things better yesterday.’ ”

7. Manage by setting boundaries with freedom in the middle.
“The boundaries are commitment, passion, trust, and teamwork. Within those guidelines, there’s plenty of freedom. But no one can cross those four boundaries.”

8. Stay disciplined and detailed.
“Good leaders are never afraid to intervene personally on things that are important. Michael Dell can tell you how many computers were shipped from Singapore yesterday.”

9. Leave a few things unsaid.
“I may know an answer, but I’ll often let the team find its own way. Sometimes, being an active listener is much more effective than ending a meeting with me enumerating 17 actions.”

10. Like people. (JG, this one is for  you my friend)
“Today, it’s employment at will. Nobody’s here who doesn’t want to be here. So it’s critical to understand people, to always be fair, and to want the best in them. And when it doesn’t work, they need to know it’s not personal.”

Until next time…MIDGET…OUT!!!

5 Responses to “Calling All Ladies: GOTRIbal!”

  1. I found GOTRIbal on Twitter, too! I “follow” you there (ironmountaineer)and just read your post and found this site. I’m completely excited about this site, as well. It has unlimited possibilities for women triathletes. I started the Cincinnati tribe so stop by and say hello.

    – Lora

  2. Great post. And great way to take the leadership role in Jacksonville. If there isn’t a tribe, then start one! Kewl Thanks for the leadership list !

  3. Hi Kellie, Thanks so much for including me in your awesome post!

    Ok, I think I’m gonna join the GOTRibal site even though a tri is still a gleam in my eye — hey, I just made a rhyme . . .I’ll “friend” you when I get there, it that’s possible. Or I’ll start the Santa Monica Tribe and be the sole member — who hasn’t even done a tri yet! If girls can dream, so can grown women! Thanks for posting about this. It’s all such great timing.

    Danette/Madness

  4. Hey K-E-L-L-I-E,

    I just found your blog and am so very, very impressed!! I am starting a wellness center soon and we need to talk about haing an annual event featuring you and your sisters. We’ll see. I just ordered ATHLETE on netflix. Can’t wait to see it. It is so great to see you all folowing your dreams and SUCCEEDING! I am so inspired.

    I especially loved your PAY it FORWARD post. Right on!

    Love you!!!
    T

    PS Maybe I will take baby starts and plan on running a 5K. Who knows!!

  5. Ciao

Leave a Reply

