Laughter, Thought, Emotion

On the heels of the National Marathon to Fight Breast Cancer I wanted to share this video that I come across that is just incredible. Jimmy V’s 1993 ESPY Speech that is 11 min and 15 sec and worth every millisecond.

I will be doing the Half Marathon tomorrow and Grammy Young will be with me the entire race. What a beautiful woman that had her life taken at such a young age. My two sisters, Carrie and Heather, as well as myself always considered her our Angel. Good luck to everyone running on Sunday!

Grammy Young - Died at the age of 62 from breast cancer

Grammy Young - Died at the age of 62 from breast cancer

2 Responses to “Laughter, Thought, Emotion”

  1. Loved your dedication. I always thought Edie Young left a piece of herself in all of you. She was a very strong woman that never let on how much pain she was in. You are the same way.

  2. I am officially a registered and potential bone marrow donor…I felt so good signing up this morning. Having my son with me to experience a place where selfless people volunteered their time and energy made it extra special. They wanted him to sign up but you have to be 18 and he’s not quite 16 yet. I guess his 5’9″ stature was deceiving. Anyway…I am so excited to see how Kellie’s blog has inspired so, so, so many. I walk with a bit more air under my feet thinking about all the great possibilities life has in store for us all with such great vibes filtering through our minds and bodies. This blog also made me think about how many people there are who struggle with health problems. For most of us we don’t have to look far to see this struggle. My Grammy (featured in this blog) is one such case. I also just signed up for a 100-mile bike ride to benefit Diabetes research. My grandfather was a victim of this disease and my mom fights against it on a daily basis and is strong enough to win most of the time against its effects. Check out the site to see if there is a ride near you that you can participate in http://tour.diabetes.org/site/PageServer?pagename=TC_homepage. There are many distances to choose from!

Leave a Reply

