Girls Weekend – Hills and Tiaras

I must start by clarifying, Florida is FLAT! So all of you who ride in the hills as a daily occurrence you will enjoy the fact that it is a true adventure for us in Florida to go above sea level. We even blog about it!

Riding the Clermont Hills :

Leslie With The Gear

Leslie With The Gear

Man was it an early start to the morning. We were on a schedule and wanted to be on the bike early and that meant in the car fully packed by 5:30AM. JC, Leslie, Joy and I were off on time and on our way to pick up Sally for the 5 woman adventure in the hills of Clermont.
Joy & Leslie Getting Ready To Ride

Joy & Leslie Getting Ready To Ride

After a quick stop at Starbucks we were in Clermont and ready to rumble. Not only did JC organize the ENTIRE trip but also had the bike course map printed out with baggies for everyone! The girl is sick with organization! THANKS JC!

It was an AMAZING morning with temps hitting 70 at the start and the sun was shining bright. I have to tell you, riding hills is such a rush.
Clermont Rollers

Clermont Rollers

Now, imagine our only hill training is the occasional inter coastal waterway bridge and propping our front tire up when on our trainer. Now the ladies were hitting rollers and and I must say, we really took them well! As we are riding I kept asking, “Is this Sugarloaf?”  That would be followed up by a chuckle. I did it once and tried to forget it!
Then all of a sudden we take a right and there is the mother of all hills, SUGARLOAF MOUNTAIN!
SUGARLOAF

SUGARLOAF

This is actually a very fun hill as it is 1/3 mile, 200 foot climb where at the steepest point it is 13% and it averages about 9-11%. My average HR on the climb was 169 and my speed was 7.3 mph over the 3 min it took me to get up it. Now for the kudos!! Leslie took the entire hill SEATED!! That is something else! To that point I wanted to share a great link I found that reminds us of the proper way to climb. For those that ride hills daily or for those that are from flat land and have races in hilly locations (like me!) this is a good read. It covers technique to riding hills on a road bike:
Also, there are a few articles that I found on Ken Kifer’s website that explain how to climb isolated hills opposed to a series of hills as well as how to descend on a road bike.
After Hills and T-Run

Kellie, Joy & Leslie After Hills and T-Run

A few of us hopped off the bike and got a short t-run in and JC and Sally got in more bike miles. After that can you say FOOD!
Princess’s for a Day:
Even though our girls weekend was not at the spa we are still woman and therefore we must run the Disney Princess Half Marathon! When I signed up I was not thinking! This was the day after our first of the season hill ride. Man the quads and hams were crushed. But, what a great run and so much fun as you ran through the park and all the Disney characters were lining the course and cheering us on. Joy, did you see Goofy!
Congrats to our girls JC and Courtney for finishing 5th and 6th female overall with a 1:24:14 and 1:24:17 respectively. Also, Joy and Leslie both pulled off a PR in the races as well! Way to go ladies!!
Girls Weekend ROCKED!

Kellie, Leslie, Carrie, JC, Midget, Joy

A fun time was had by all and we are already looking to plan the next one!!

Until next time…Midget…OUT!

6 Responses to “Girls Weekend – Hills and Tiaras”

  1. Well, it is getting so that I get my morning workout reading your blog! You’re lucky to have such a fun posse!

    Where’s the picture of Goofy? Oh, forgot, he’s still in bed! 🙂

    Love and hugs,
    SM

  2. Sounds like a great weekend! Here in hilly central New York we can use hill riding advice so thanks for doing the research. I will still only go down steep hills at no more than 25mph…I’m a chicken!

  3. Awesome training trip! I’ll have to take some pics of the Rev3 course when I ride it.

  4. lol. I know your pain. There aren’t many hills in South Georgia. I’m driving across town tomorrow to find The One hill and run up and down it several times.

  5. Ok, I don’t know what’s hotter – A girl that makes maps and puts them in ziplocks for everybody or a girl with pink water bottles. Please don’t say both was done by the same chick… I’ll explode in awe!

  6. Great trip! I guess it is funny having to plan a trip to hills. In NY its right outside the door. In fact I have the opposite problem, cant find enough flat for a nice time trial.

Leave a Reply

