It Takes A Team

Friday morning I was running with a friend and he turns to me and says, “You are due for another blog entry.”  When he said that I was thinking about a special gift I received in the mail the day before from a friend. Written on the gift was kind words and one sentence stood out to me, “It takes a team to be a champion.”  It got me to thinking about those that help me be the person (the champion) that I want to be in life.

2009 has been a transitional year for me. I changed my focus from wanting to be a top age group athlete to truly finding the joy in training. Oddly this transformation has given me the transparency into what really matters in life and has allowed me to surround myself with people that have really helped me “grow into my skin.”

My buddy Kendall! Every time we talk it is like we have known each other since childhood. We never run out of things to talk about (especially the girls he dates (smile)). He makes me feel like a kid again and it is his mission to help me find my beauty within. He has his work cut out for him — I am all Tom Boy 🙂

Kendall and I  - Official Photographers for GOTR 5K

Kendall and I at GOTR 5K

I went to see Kendall after the sad loss of his Mother and we spent time unpacking his camera equipment (it is such an extension of him it was sad that it was all packed up in boxes!). He snapped a few pics to see if the lighting was right and he sent me one that I looked at and thought, wow, that is me! Freckles, smiles and a big nose 🙂

The real midget

"The Real Midget" by Kendall White

What can I say besides I love my tri girls! It never fails that when I talk to JC the first thing she says is, “Wass up midget?” and I can’t help but laugh every time. She is one hardcore chick that reminds me that with hard work and dedication you can get anything you want out of life. Although I don’t want to suffer the pain she does in training I translate that into other aspects of my life. Joy has the same hardcore thinking but the difference is that JC is a “jokster” and Joy is the most serious person I have ever met. It is the best combination and boy these two keep me on my toes! You rock ladies and JC, for the record, I really do think Joy could have beat you at the Jax Tri 🙂

Joy, Kellie and JC

Joy, Kellie and JC

We all have things in life that we want to change but for some reason we are afraid to make that change even if it holds us back. I have many of them. I was blessed to have met my friend Jason who has challenged me to be more of the person I want to be by facing those fears and overcoming them. I hope that those reading this think about something that challenges them or something they fear and work to conquer it. When you do others will see this and you will inspire them.

8/3/09 - Jason Finishes Ultraman Canada

8/3/09 - Jason Finishes Ultraman Canada

As I set out on the hardest part of Ironman training, the long rides and runs, I use the time to re-discover who I am and what I am made of. I do much of my long training alone and at times with a training partner that pushes me and challenges me with no words spoken. The comradery is welcome as it does get lonely out there!

As I continue to discover who I am through the love of my sport and those who surround me I also find solace in knowing I am becoming the person I want to be and in that I am finding that I am a stronger person and athlete that truly has no limits. Keep reaching for the stars!

Until next time…Midget OUT!

5 Responses to “It Takes A Team”

  1. Stepmonster Says:

    I think that you have such great people in your life because you are, truly, one yourself. I love the pic Kendall took of you – beautiful!!

  2. We all need to be reminded to think of who we are and who we want to be. It is so easy to forget our purpose in life and a bit of a kick in the arss (as our Irish Grandma used to say) and a knock on the head should remind us… or a blog entry can do the same without the pain 🙂 Surround yourself with those who always lead you to your best.

  3. You’re truly onto something here with the whole “people that you surround yourself with” thing. I recently quoted a Dave Matthews lyric in one of my posts that seems relevant because I was trying to make a similar point – “Turns out it’s not where you are but who you’re with that really matters.”

    And I second Stepmonster’s comment – that is a great photo of you. My wife is blessed with freckles too and every summer they bloom for me like flowers. I love ’em.

  4. Love the post…love the picture your friend took of you! You are 150% correct that the people we surround ourselves with are the people that help mold us into who we are!!! Not only do I have a great overall support system…I have two young children that I want to inspire…not always to be number I also have to give a shout to all the people we don’t “know” on a race course that help keep us going on race day!!!

  5. oops accidentally posted last entry when I didn’t mean too!!! but I also wanted to say I found 1 flaw in your entry 🙂 You said you are all tomboy (which you definatly are part tomboy) but you keep sporting those girly skirts from Lulu Lemon (which I LOVE). So….maybe you are transforming in many ways 🙂

Leave a Reply

