Recovery Smoothie With Some Helpful Hints

Thanks to my girl JC for a lovely text message today telling me it was time for me to put out another blog entry. Since she “yelled” at me in the text (yes, she used capital letters) I am putting out a post that ensures my next text will surely read “tree hugger” (maybe in caps too…we will see). Thanks JC 🙂

I have been slowly moving to a higher percentage of my diet being “plant-based” since the big “40” is only a year away, my body does not recover as quickly and I never intend to end my adventures in endurance sports. I am not a nutritionist or certified in anything but insanity so please know that these tips are from what I find to work for me. After reading Brendan Brazier’s book Thrive: The Vegan Nutrition Guide to Optimal Performance in Sports and Life I realized there are some amazing foods out there that help lower body fat, increase muscle tone, diminish visible signs of aging, help you sleep better, experience better moods, increase energy and mental clarity and build a stronger immune system. After every workout I make myself a smoothie made of the foods I already love and the new ones I have learned about.

Below are the foods I use in my smoothies (I am not giving portion sizes as the point here is to bring attention to the foods and their benefits):

Fresh Fruit: Banana, Blueberries, Strawberries – No need to go into the benefits of these fruits!

Sun Warrior Raw Vegan Protein powder – at 85% protein, this product has the Highest (non-soy) raw whole grain sprouted vegan protein on the market. This product is top notch!

Garden of Life Perfect Food (Super Green Formula) – This powder is made with vegetable, sprout and organic cereal grass ingredients, one serving is equivalent to 140 grams of fresh grass juice to ensure your body receives the nutritional benefits of multiple servings of fruits and veggies.

Navitas Raw Maca Powder – This one is 100% pure maca powder that is certified organic, kosher, vegan and raw. Maca root has been used as a stress-fighting adaptogen to increase stamina, boost libido and combat fatigue and it also provides many essential minerals, fatty and amino acids.

Nutiva Organic Hemp Oil – This is rich in Omega-3 – the good fat! It is an ideal 3:1 Omega-6 to -3 ratio and helps our bodies metabolize fat and especially vital to combat the effects of stress, aging and environmental toxins

* I also use Coconut water, some pomegranate juice and put in a little almond butter or Agave nectar

Helpful Hint!

For those of you that are like me and skip a recipe that looks amazing because it has an ingredient I don’t know the above may turn you off. BUT, I knew I would stick with making my smoothies so I get most of the “unique” products from Amazon and the best part is most of them I use the “Subscribe & Save” option so it gets delivered directly to my door on the schedule I set (once a month, 2 months, 3 months) and it is free shipping and 15% off the cost for signing up and you can cancel at any time either a single shipment or the entire subscription – no risk!

MacaCoconut WaterHemp Oil Protein Powder

Hope some have found this helpful! My next entry will be about my first trail run, Mountain Mist 50K, in Huntsville, Al. 

Until next time…Midget OUT!

3 Responses to “Recovery Smoothie With Some Helpful Hints”

  1. I was wondering if you were going vegan or what from your fb post! Cool stuff, can’t wait to try some of it. I totally need to take you to this awesome vegan restaurant in st. augustine (the present moment cafe). It’s my favorite restaurant!!
    So much luck to you this weekend girl. You are going to do awesome and I can’t wait to hear all about it. you are one amazing athlete and you will destroy the course!!!

  2. Dude… where’s the chocolate and processed foods. Now read the book Born to Run and I bet by next year all you will be eating is yogurt, you will sell your car, wear a purple bra, and you will do Badwater. Got you interested… didn’t I 🙂 Love you and kick some butt this weekend!

  3. Hey, just curious about if you’ve any more details so I can find a tad more about it?

Leave a Reply

