The Game of Self-Implosion

This week I felt like I was a pawn in the game of self-implosion. Maybe more like self-realization but at times they feel like one in the same. For many endurance athletes a big part of what drives us is the need to prove we can reach limits we never thought possible. It is like an addiction, we conquer and look for the next thing to challenge us. The most difficult part of training is finding balance. For me finding that balance is actually harder than training itself.

Last Sunday evening I looked at my training for the week and saw 21 hours of swim, bike, and run. I started to do the math and realized the physical was going to turn to mental. Work has been stressful and mentally draining, training was going to require me to be on the bike by 4am on Friday, I was going to have to pull double sessions and I have never put in more than an 17 hour training week.

The one thing I believe is that when faced with a challenge it is how you respond that defines you as a human. I know in Ultraman Cananda I will have the highest of highs and the lowest of lows. It is those dark moments that will challenge me, that will define me, that will help me grow and learn more about myself. I survived the week and it helped build my confidence in myself and my capabilities.

To round out that so-called “balance” I ended the week with some chill time with some of my amazing friends and support structure. I would definitely not be the person I am today without my wonderful family and friends. All smiles!

Joy, Lesleigh, JC, Libby, Kellie

One Response to “The Game of Self-Implosion”

  1. Congratulations honey!!!!

    Balance … always a place I have struggled with … seem to spend most of my days tip-toeing along its very fine fine line, all the while knowing how extremely important the relentless strive towards keeping it is.

    We know happiness when we hit it on the head (balance). I LOVE it how you ended your trying week with Chill Time with the Girls! You hit it babe!! Well Done. Muchos Love and smooth UMC training, xx T

Leave a Reply

