The Struggle, the Sacrifice, the Friendship, the Inspiration

Friendship is a strong and habitual inclination in two persons to promote the good and happiness of one another. * Eustace Budgell  

Click on image to see Jason's message

 I remember so clearly how my unique friendship began with someone who has helped me grow emotionally, feel the joy of giving, paying it forward and using my gifts to inspire. I ran into gentlemen at Ironman Louisville and as we chatted for a bit on the run he told me he was using the Ironman to train for a Ultraman. I had no idea what this was but pretended I did and when I got home I immediately put it into a search engine and thought WOW!  

As I did some research I was struck by this one man who did Ultraman and inspired me through his positive energy and optimism. I reached out via email to explain to him how his story had inspired me to take the leap into the ultra endurance world and put Ultraman on my shortlist. He replied and the friendship began.  

One year and 8 months ago Jason Lester and I first spoke as he was willing to talk to me about his experiences of his Ultraman journey. We would talk about his goal of the Never Stop Foundation, the sacrifices he has and continues to make to see it come to fruition and his mission to inspire globally through his story. But with the sacrifices comes many dark moments and I returned the friendship by being the person he could talk to, the person that would just listen. Our friendship grew into a vision and it all came down to the simplest of points, to inspire each other to continue to reach for our goals no matter how difficult the sacrifices.  

I remember talking to Jason and he was in the process of naming an event that he was putting on and he said, “The one thing the name has to have in it is the word EPIC!” He goes on to say it will be 5 iron distance races over 5 consecutive days on 5 Hawaiian Islands. I simply said, “5” and from that EPIC5 was born. Teamwork! We have spent countless hours just hearing each other out, getting through those dark moments, helping each other to take those leaps forward and continue to inspire.  

Jason completed EPIC5 and I completed Ultraman Canada – the POWER of an inspirational friendship. Jason is about to embark on a whirlwind tour for the release of his book RUNNING ON FAITH. I could not be more proud of his perseverance to inspire globally and never giving up! 

You can pre-order RUNNING ON FAITH on Amazon or Barnes & Noble

4 Responses to “The Struggle, the Sacrifice, the Friendship, the Inspiration”

  1. What an amazing friendship – and what amazing athletes! I am sure there is just a small percentage of athletes who attempt and complete Ultramans – I can see how that accomplishment alone can form a significant bond with someone! I can’t wait to get this book.

    Congratulations on your Ultraman – that is a truly incredible feat!!

  2. awesome girl! I cannot wait to read the book and I love your inspired friendship with jason. what an amazing story of friendship you two are weaving! I can’t wait to see what levels you push each other to next!!!

  3. I can’t wait to read this book and follow the EPIC5… crazy amazing. Thanks for sharing your story!

  4. Kellie, you always amaze me with your ability to connect and inspire. Now I’ll have to order the book 🙂

Leave a Reply

