Natural Progression – Iron to Ultra to Epic

 

“Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you, they’re supposed to help you discover who you are.” – Bernice Johnson Reagon

I always believe that things happen for a reason and opportunities come to you when you least expect it. What you do when presented with these opportunities truly can help you discover who you are. When I received the invitation to EPICMAN I was not even sure if it was humanly possible. Nor was I sure I would have time to train with opportunities opening up for me at work. Then I went back and re-read My Speech from Angie’s Half Crazy! Half Marathon back in April 2010 this struck me, “If you set a goal for yourself and stop and think about it you will find every reason in the book why you can’t do it. If you commit yourself to it and you are passionate about it you will find a way to accomplish your goals.”  I stopped over thinking and it all fell into place 🙂

The EPICMAN Challenge® takes place from December 30, 2011 @7am – Sunday, January 01, 2012 @ 9am. 50 hours to complete a 7.2 mile swim – 336 mile bike – 78.6 mile run. Non-Stop – on the island of Oahu.

The race will be limited to 24 entrants. EPICMAN Challenge is an invitation event. You must submit your race resume to info@EP1CMAN.com. If you have been accepted please click HERE to register with your code.

EPICMAN is sure to test the PERSEVERANCE, FLEXIBILITY and MENTAL FORTITUDE of even the most experienced and accomplished of elite athletes. Who’s in?

Course Maps

EPICMAN_Swim_Course – Ala Moana Beach Park – out & back (1.2 mi) x 6 = 7.2 mi

EPICMAN_Bike_Course – Start/End at Ala Moana Beach Park, 112 miles x 3

EPICMAN_Run_Course – EPICMAN run course x 3 (same as Honolulu Marathon run course)

5 Responses to “Natural Progression – Iron to Ultra to Epic”

  1. My crotch hurts just thinking about it! Crazy and awesome at the same time. I can’t wait to hear more about it.

  2. Sounds like fun!! We are planning to do Desert RATS, the stage race Michael did last year, in 2012.

  3. Amazing!!!! Congrats on the invitation!

  4. I think you need to become an RD or something just so you can make up more crazy distance races for you to do.

    Congrats!

  5. Hi you!!!! I can’t find your email on here, I am an idiot. I loved meeting you @ ft clinch! Your energy and smile provided such a boost for many of us during the race. Thanks for that! 🙂 good luck in your race!!!
    Ashley Walsh

Leave a Reply

